New York State Association of Fire Chaplains Special Membership Meeting May 12, 2020 VIA Zoom – Due to COVID 19 Pandemic Minutes

Attendance: 44 members including Chief Chaplain Mayo, 1st Deputy VanWie, 2nd Deputy Chief Chaplain Tom With, Executive Secretary Miles, Treasurer Foster, Directors: Bolster, Kennedy, Little, McCarthy, Ruston, Vanderbeck, Director Emeritus Lundy. Immediate Past Chief Van Houten, Past Chiefs Palmer & Carvalho

Absent: Directors: Flander, Kline, Past Chiefs: Billia, Hessel, Jagow, Michatek, & Tobin.

The meeting was called to order at 7:15 pm by Chief Chaplain Mayo Rabbi Miram Charry led the opening prayer. Director Kennedy led the Pledge to the Flag.

The Chief Chaplain turned the meeting over to the nominating committee chairman, Immediate Past Chief Chaplain, Rev. Jim Van Houten. Van Houten reported that a slate of Officers had been presented and that nominations were taken from the membership for any open positions. The committee received one nomination for 2nd Deputy Chief Chaplain for Director Joe McCarthy from Chief Chaplain William Mayo, seconded by Director Mark Little.

The rest of the slate was unopposed. The Executive Secretary was instructed and cast one vote for each person for each position as follows:

- 1) Immediate Past Chief Chaplain William Mayo automatically assumed.
- 2) Chief Chaplain Rev. Leon VanWie automatically assumed.
- 3) 1st Deputy Chief Chaplain Tom With
- 4) Director North Thomas Doyle
- 5) Director Central Keith Erickson
- 6) Director West Central Spence Kennedy

An election by secret ballot will be sent to all paid member of the Association by the Executive Secretary. The nominating committee will decide the particulars of the ballot and mailing.

The proposed bylaw addition will also be decided by secret ballot to be included with the ballot for Second Deputy Chief.

Executive Secretary William Miles administered the oath of office for Chief Chaplain, Rev. Leon VanWie and 1st Deputy Chief With.

The meeting was then tabled at 7:45 pm until the votes are counted and a winner is declared for 2nd Deputy Chief Chaplain and the results of the bylaw addition is decided. The meeting will then be considered closed.

On June 17, 2020, Immediate Past Chief Chaplain, Rev. Jim Van Houten, Chairman of the nominating committee, convened a meeting for the purpose of counting the 2020 election ballots. The meeting was held at the Mohawk Exempts, meeting room in Mohawk, NY. In attendance were Rev. Van Houten, Past Chief Chaplains, Ken Palmer and William Miles (also Executive Secretary). Chief Chaplain, Rev. Leon VanWie, and First Deputy Chief Chaplain Tom With were present to witness the counting

A total of 261 ballots were mailed to eligible voters. 169 ballots were returned. 3 of the ballots were disqualified as their postmarks were beyond the June 10th deadline. Two ballots were disqualified as they were not signed. 10 ballots were disqualified as the signatures were not legible enough to verify who mailed them. This left a total of 154 ballots that were eligible to be counted.

The process: Rev. Van Houten and Ken Palmer first opened each envelope containing the ballot envelopes and the name of the members were recorded.

The ballot envelopes were turned over, opened, and the ballots were removed and set aside so that nobody knew who voted for who. The votes were then tallied and recorded. The results of the election are as follows:

2nd Deputy Chief Chaplain 2020-2021:

Richard Bolster 85 votes Joe McCarthy. 65 votes Abstained. 4 votes

The new 2nd Deputy Chief Chaplain is Mr. Richard Bolster.

The Bylaw addition vote was:

134 Yes

10 No

10 Abstained

The bylaw addition has passed!

The ballots will be kept by the Executive Secretary until the BOD instructs him to destroy them. A letter (email to those who have email) will be sent to the entire membership to reveal the election results. The meeting of May 12, 2020, was considered concluded.

Respectfully submitted, July 7, 2020.

In His Service,

William A. Miles, Executive Secretary